Seven Major ChakrasChakras are energy centers that start at the base of your spine and travel up to the crown or top of your head. The body has seven major chakras, each is a circular wheel of light spinning in your energetic system, associated with specific parts of the body, a color, stone, element, and function.

Blocked energy in any of our seven chakras can often lead to illness so it is very important to understand what each Chakra represents and what can be affected is the chakras aren’t kept clean and flowing freely.

The word Chakra is a Sanskrit word, meaning wheel or disc.

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The Root Chakra grounds and connects us to the earth. With the root chakra open and balanced, we feel a sense of calm and belonging. The feeling of deserving to be here and to be happy whilst we are here. The root chakra really focuses on our needs. Basic needs in life like food, a place to live, and water are necessary in order for this chakra to feel balanced.

Chakra Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.
Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food.

Stones: Ruby, Bloodstone, Hematite
Element: Earth
Body Part(s): Adrenal Glands, associated with survival (fight or flight) instincts

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

The calming orange wheel goes round in our lower abdomen, right below the navel. The Sacral Chakra is associated with health, pleasure, feelings, and sexuality. When the sacral chakra is balanced, we feel abundant, we know that we are deserving of pleasure in all the areas of our lives. It is the sacral chakra that helps us feel free to let our emotions flow through our lives, taking situations as they given to us and knowing that they will pass, knowing that just as emotions are fluid, so is life. When we are able to find ways to accept and express our emotions, then we are able to keep our emotional, as well as physical, bodies healthy.

Chakra Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.
Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.

Stones: Carnelian, Tiger’s Eye, Onyx
Element: Water
Body Part(s): Testicles, Ovaries, in charge of sexual development

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

This bright yellow ball of fire heats up our personal sense of power. Located at the solar plexus, the Solar Plexus Chakra helps to center us. It is our power center where we develop our autonomy and sense of self. When this chakra is open, we feel worthy of all that life has to offer us. We realize the power we possess to create the life of our dreams is already alive inside of us. When we harness the energy of the solar plexus chakra, we find the strength to conquer all and to work towards our dreams and goals.

Chakra Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.

Stones: Topaz, Citrine, Amber
Element: Fire
Body Part(s): Pancreas, controls digestion

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Our Heart Chakra center creates balance in our lives. When we move into our heart chakra, we feel love and compassion toward ourselves as well as others around us. Once we have learned to be happy with ourselves, then we are able to extend these feelings towards others. The heart chakra allows us to live our lives from an understanding, considerate, and peaceful place. It connects us to others, our surroundings, and the universe. When we tap into our heart chakra, love radiates all around us and out into the world.

Chakra Location: Center of chest just above heart.
Emotional issues: Love, joy, inner peace.

Stones: Rose Quartz, Diamond, Peridot
Element: Air
Body Part(s): Thymus, helps build immune system

Throat Chakra (Visuddha)

The blue energy of the Throat Chakra center spins its truth in our throat, helping us to be authentic in the way we live our lives. The throat chakra is where we communicate, where we are able to openly share our life perspective. Part of speaking truthfully involves carefully considering our words and the effect they will have once they have been spoken, causing us to consciously choose what we say to others. This, however, does not mean that we should bottle our words up inside. It means that we try to look at all perspectives and find a respectful way to present our feelings and words. Be clear and ask for what you want, but in a respectful manner.

Chakra Location: Throat.
Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.

Stones: Turquoise, Blue Agate, Aquamarine
Element: Sound
Body Part(s): Thyroid, controls metabolism

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The violet light of the Third Eye Chakra makes its mark on our forehead, between the eyebrows and slightly above. This is where we see, where our inner eye lives. When we have an important decision to make or are feeling uncertain in our lives, it helps to focus on the third eye and to seek guidance. Everything we need to know is inside of us. Each one of us has the answers to all of the questions that we ask. What we need to do is slow down, take some time out, listen and trust in our own wisdom and intuition.

Chakra Location: Forehead between the eyes. (Also called the Brow Chakra)
Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions.

Stones: Sapphire, Tanzanite, Lapis Lazuli
Element: Light
Body Part(s): Pituitary Gland, influences growth and hormones

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Bright white light glows from the Crown Chakra at the top of our head, radiating upward, reaching its rays out into the world beyond and around us. When we are grounded in our bodies, we are able to accept the ever-changing world around us. Once we have accepted that change, we can work on building a strong sense of self, knowing that we deserve to fulfil our dreams. Having learned to love ourselves, we can then let our love move beyond the boundaries of our self and enter into our interactions with others. When we know how to love ourselves and others, then we are able to speak our truth from a place of integrity and respect for all involved in the conversation. When we are able to be openly honest, we can then go inside and listen quietly to our inner voice, which guides us. Going inside, we discover that though it often seems we are alone in this journey of life, we are really connected to everything. The white light radiates out from our crown and blends into the rest of the light that flows from all other beings. We are all one.
Chakra Location: The very top of the head.
Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.

Stones: Amethyst, Alexandrite
Element: Thought
Body Part(s): Pineal Gland, regulates natural body rhythms



Search for books on Chakras